Northern Ireland's Healthcare Professionals Take a Bow!


The cream of Northern Ireland’s healthcare industry took a bow last Thursday night as the sixteenth annual Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards took place at the Europa Hotel in Belfast.

The Awards ceremony gave the Province’s healthcare professionals the opportunity to highlight their own work and to receive the accolades of their peers.

Among those receiving awards this year was Professor Ian Young, Professor of Medicine at Queen’s University, Belfast and Director of the Centre for Public Health, one of four research centres within the School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences.

Professor Young received the Special Recognition Award, which was sponsored by ABPI Northern Ireland, for his outstanding contribution not only to academia and research within Northern Ireland, but across the UK.

‘Professor Young is extremely deserving of this award,’ said Colette Goldrick, Chair of ABPI Northern Ireland, which sponsored this award. ‘Throughout his career he has focused – and continues to focus – on improving the health of the public at a regional, national and international level by increasing knowledge and by influencing clinical and public health practice and policy. His commitment to what he does is outstanding and he is a deserving winner.’

List of Belfast Trust Winners    



Special Recognition Award 
Professor Ian Young (centre) pictured with Health Minister Jim Wells, Ann McMahon (ABPI), Colette Goldrick (Chair ABPI)




Innovations in Ophthalmology
Miss Eibhlin McLoone, the POPCC Team RVH and Mr Richard Best Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon



Innovative Developments in Elderly Skincare Management
Winners: Oonagh Galway, Clinical Nurse Coordinator and the Nursing Home Support Team, Knockbracken Healthcare Park, Belfast Trust



Clinical Leadership Team of the Year - Dr Pamela Bell, Dr Ivan Wiggam, Sister Karen Davison and Diane Taylor Stroke Unit RVH




Other Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards Winners

Asthma Project of the Year:
Joint winners: The Pharmacy Team, Randalstown Pharmacies Limited, Randalstown and Royanne Dickson and Nuala McNeice, Craigavon Area Hospital, Southern Trust

Innovations in Quality and Efficiency through Technology in N I Healthcare
Winner: Peter Beagon, Dr Paddy Kearney, Professor Mike Scott and LAMPS team, Pharmacy and Medicines Management Centre, Antrim Area Hospital

Epilepsy Project of the Year :
Winner: Sarah McCann, Epilepsy Nurse-Led Clinic for Adults with Learning Disability, Maghera Community Services Centre

Hospital Pharmacist of the Year:
Winner: Rory McSorley, Anticoagulant Pharmacist, Craigavon Area Hospital, Southern Trust

Innovative Clinical Services in Community Pharmacy
Winner: John Hamill, McMullan’s Pharmacy, Lisburn Road, Belfast

Working in Partnership, Community Pharmacy and GP Surgery of the Year
Winner: Randalstown Health Centre and Randalstown Pharmacy Teams, Randalstown  

Read More: 

To read more about the Healthcare Awards please go to the websites below: