Trust Board

The Board of the Belfast Trust is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the Trust’s activities.  It is accountable, through the chairman, to the Permanent Secretary at the Department of Health Social Services and Public Safety, and ultimately to the Minister for Health.

It is made up of a Chairman, seven non Executive Directors, five Executive Directors and seven other Directors.  The Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety appoints non-executive directors, with the approval of the Minister for Health, Social services and Public Safety.

The Trust Board meets approximately 6 times per year and anyone can attend.

In addition to the Chairman Mr Peter McNaney, the following people are members of Trust Board.


Non-Executive members of Trust Board are:

Mr Leslie Drew

Mr Leslie Drew MBA is a Financial Systems & Risk Manager of Viridian Group PLC (formerly NI Electricity), where he held the position of Group Financial Controller. For the past 27 years he has been a voluntary Youth Leader, and has recently been appointed to the board of Newtownbreda United Churches. He was a non-executive director of South & East Belfast Trust.

Dr Val McGarrell

Dr Val McGarrel MPA is Head of the NI Council of the Royal College of General Practitioners. She is a former Chair of Fermanagh District Partnership for Peace and Reconciliation and was a non-executive director of Belfast City Hospital Trust.

Mr Charles Jenkins

Mr Charles Jenkins OBE JP FCA is Company Secretary of Lagan Holdings Ltd, and is a member of the board of governors of a college and primary school. Mr Jenkins is also a member of the Advisory Committee to the General Commission of Income Tax. From October 2005 to April 2007 he was Chair of the Mater Infirmorum Hospital Trust.

Mr James O'Kane

Mr James O'Kane BA CPFA is a former Director of Finance,and is currently Registrar and Chief Operating Officer at Queen's University Belfast. In 2002, Mr O'Kane was appointed Chair of the Belfast Institute of Further & Higher Education, and is Chair designate of the Belfast Metropolitan College. He was a non-executive director of the Royal Hospitals Trust.

Executive Members of Trust Board

The Executive Team are also members of Trust Board.
Read about the Executive Team